[Haskell] MSFP call for papers

Venanzio Capretta venanzio at cs.ru.nl
Wed Jan 9 06:19:07 EST 2008


Second Workshop on
6 July 2008,  Reykjavik - Iceland
A satellite workshop of ICALP 2008

The workshop on Mathematically Structured Functional Programming is 
devoted to the derivation of functionality from structure. It is a 
celebration of the direct impact of Theoretical Computer Science on 
programs as we write them today. Modern programming languages, and in 
particular functional languages, support the direct expression of 
mathematical structures, equipping programmers with tools of remarkable 
power and abstraction. Monadic programming in Haskell is the 
paradigmatic example, but there are many more mathematical insights 
manifest in programs and in programming language design: 
Freyd-categories in reactive programming, symbolic differentiation 
yielding context structures, and comonadic presentations of dataflow, to 
name but three. This workshop is a forum for researchers who seek to 
reflect mathematical phenomena in data and control.

The first MSFP workshop was held in Kuressaare, Estonia, in July 2006. 
An associated special issue of the Journal of Functional Programming is 
in preparation.

Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science have provisionally 
agreed to publish the proceedings of MSFP 2008. ENTCS require 
submissions in LaTeX, formatted according to their guidelines 

Papers must report previously unpublished work and not be submitted 
concurrently to another conference with refereed proceedings. Programme 
Committee members, barring the co-chairs, may (and indeed are 
encouraged) to contribute. Accepted papers must be presented at the 
workshop by one of the authors.

There is no specific page limit, but authors should strive for brevity.

We are using the EasyChair software to manage submissions.
To submit a paper, please log in at:

Submission of abstracts: 4 April
Submission of papers: 11 April
Notification: 16 May
Final versions due: 13 June
Workshop: 6 July

For more information about the workshop, go to:

Programme Committee

* Yves Bertot, INRIA, Sophia-Antipolis, France
* Venanzio Capretta (co-chair), Radboud University, Nijmegen, The 
* Jacques Carette, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
* Thierry Coquand, Chalmers University, Göteborg, Sweden
* Andrzej Filinski, DIKU, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
* Jean-Christophe Filliâtre, LRI, Université Paris Sud, France
* Jeremy Gibbons, Oxford University, England
* Andy Gill, Galois Inc., Portland, Oregon, USA
* Peter Hancock, University of Nottingham, England
* Oleg Kiselyov, FNMOC, Monterey, California, USA
* Paul Blain Levy, University of Birmingham, England
* Andres Löh, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
* Marino Miculan, Università di Udine, Italy
* Conor McBride (co-chair), Alta Systems, Northern Ireland
* James McKinna, Radboud University, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
* Alex Simpson, University of Edinburgh, Scotland
* Tarmo Uustalu, Institute of Cybernetics, Tallinn, Estonia

More information about the Haskell mailing list