RTA 2002 - Call for Papers

Pierre Lescanne Pierre.Lescanne@ens-lyon.fr
Fri, 7 Dec 2001 13:59:00 +0100

                         RTA 2002 - Call for Papers

The 13th International Conference on Rewriting Techniques and Applicati=
RTA'02 will take place from July 22, 2002 to July 24, 2002 in Copenhage=
Denmark, as part of the Federated Logic Conference FLoC'02.


RTA is the major forum for the presentation of research on all aspects =
rewriting. Typical areas include (but are not limited to):

   * Applications: case studies; rule-based programming; symbolic and
     algebraic computation; theorem proving; functional and logic
     programming; proof checking.
   * Foundations: matching and unification; completion techniques;
     strategies; constraint solving; explicit substitutions.
   * Frameworks: string, term, and graph rewriting; lambda-calculus and=

     higher-order rewriting; conditional rewriting; proof nets; constra=
     rewriting and deduction; categorical and infinitary rewriting.
   * Implementation: compilation techniques; parallel execution; rewrit=
   * Semantics: equational logic; rewriting logic.

Best Paper Award

A prize of 500 EUR will be given to the best paper as judged by the pro=
committee. The program committee may decline to make the award or may s=
it among several papers.


Submissions must be original and not submitted for publication elsewher=
Submissions should fall into one of the following categories:

1. Regular research papers describing new results; they will be judged =
correctness and significance.

2. Papers describing the experience of applying rewriting techniques in=

other areas; they will be judged on relevance and comparison with other=


3. Problem sets that provide realistic and interesting challenges in th=
field of rewriting.

4. System descriptions; they should contain a link to a working system =
will be judged on usefulness and design.

All submissions will be judged on originality. Submissions in the first=

three categories can be up to 15 proceedings pages long, system descrip=
4 proceedings pages. Authors are strongly encouraged to use LaTeX2e and=
Springer llncs class file, available at
http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html. The title page should in=
the submission category. Proofs of theorems should be provided in the p=
or, if space does not permit, should be made accessible otherwise (e.g.=
, as
an appendix to the submission or via the Web). Submission is by email: =
a self-contained postscript file to



Accepted papers will be published in the proceedings of the symposium
(Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Springer-Verlag). Simultaneous
submission to other conferences with published proceedings is not allow=

Important dates

   * Tue January 15, 2002 - paper submission
   * Fri March 22, 2002 - author notification
   * Thu April 25, 2002 - camera-ready papers due

Program Committee

   * chair: Sophie Tison <Sophie.Tison@lifl.fr>
     LIFL - Laboratoire d'Informatique Fondamentale de Lille
     URA CNRS 369
     Universit=E9 de Lille 1
     Cit=E9 Scientifique --- Bat. M3
     59655 Villeneuve d'Ascq cedex, FRANCE
     +33 03 20 43 43 09
     +33 03 20 43 47 24 (secretary)
     +33 03 20 43 45 66 (fax)
   * Andrea Corradini <andrea@di.unipi.it>, Pisa
   * Daniel J. Dougherty <ddougherty@wesleyan.edu>, Wesleyan
   * J=FCrgen Giesl <giesl@informatik.rwth-aachen.de>, Aachen U of Tech=
   * Bernhard Gramlich <gramlich@logic.at>, Vienna U of Technology
   * Th=E9r=E8se Hardin <Therese.Hardin@lip6.fr>, Paris VI
   * Christopher Lynch <clynch@clarkson.edu>, Clarkson
   * Jerzy Marcinkowski <jma@tcs.uni.wroc.pl>, Wroclaw
   * Aart Middeldorp <ami@is.tsukuba.ac.jp>, Tsukuba
   * Joachim Niehren <niehren@ps.uni-sb.de>, Saarland
   * Femke van Raamsdonk <femke@cs.vu.nl>, Vrije U of Amsterdam
   * Albert Rubio <albert@lsi.upc.es>, Technical U of Catalonia
   * Ralf Treinen <Ralf.Treinen@lri.fr>, Paris-Sud