Janis Voigtlaender voigt at tcs.inf.tu-dresden.de
Fri May 23 08:20:27 EDT 2008



The European Masters Program in Computational Logic  is a distributed
MSc program which is offered by the following universities:

       * Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
       * Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
       * Technische Universitaet Dresden, Germany
       * Technische Universitaet Wien, Austria
       * Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain

Students select two out of the five partner universities, study for  one
year at each of the selected universities and will receive a  double
MSc-degree from the selected universities.


- 31 May 2008: deadline for all European and non-European students
     (notification of acceptance: 15 July 2008)


There will be 12 consortium scholarships to waive one year's tuition
fee of 3.000 € for students who newly enroll in the winter semester
2008 and do not receive any other scholarship. These scholarships will
be given on the basis of academic merit.

Every year 10 EMCL students with European citizenship can visit
Australia (Canberra, Sydney, Melbourne or Brisbane) up to 3 months to
work on a research project, sponsored by the European Master. The  study
period in Australia is part of the study programme and it is  fully
recognised by the European Master's Program in Computational  Logic. The
guaranteed scholarship is of 3,100 € and it covers the  travel and
living expenses in Australia.


Check this web page for detailed info on applications:


The European Masters Program in Computational Logic is designed to  meet
the demands of industry and research in this rapidly growing  area.
Based on a solid foundation in mathematical logic, theoretical  computer
science, artificial  intelligence and declarative programming  students
  will  acquire   in-depth  knowledge  necessary  to  specify,
implement and  run complex systems as  well as to  prove properties of
these  systems. In particular, the focus of instruction will be in
deduction systems, knowledge representation and reasoning, artificial
intelligence, formal specification and verification, syntax directed
semantics, logic and automata theory, logic and computability. This
basic  knowledge is  then  applied  to areas  like  logic and  natural
language  processing,  logic  and  the semantic  web,  bioinformatics,
information  systems and  database technology,  software  and hardware
verification.  Students will acquire practical experience and will
become familiar in the use of tools within these applications. In
addition, students will  be prepared for a future  PhD, they will come
in  contact with  the  international research  community  and will  be
integrated   into  ongoing  research   projects.  They   will develop
competence in foreign languages and international relationships,
thereby improving their social skills.

Applicants should have a Bachelor degree (Bologna 1st cycle or
equivalent) in Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Logic, or other
relevant disciplines; special cases will be considered.  The program
has various strength that make it unique among European universities:

* Curriculum taught entirely in English:  The program is open to the
      world and prepares the students to move on the international scene.
* Possibility of a strongly research-oriented curriculum.
* Possibility for project-based  routes  to obtain  the  degree  and
      extensive lab facilities.
* International student community.
* Direct interaction with the local  and international  industry and
      research centres, with the possibility  of practical  and research
      internships that can lead to future employment.
* Excellent scholarship opportunities and student accommodations.

The European Masters Program in Computational Logic is one of the few
European Masters awarded by the European Union's Erasmus Mundus
programme from its first year of existence in 2004. The Erasmus Mundus
programme is a co-operation and mobility programme  in the  field of
higher  education which  promotes the  European Union  as a  centre of
excellence  in  learning  around  the  world.   It supports European
top-quality   Masters Courses   and enhances   the   visibility and
attractiveness of European higher education in third-countries. It  also
provides EU-funded scholarships for third-country nationals
participating in these Masters Courses,  as well as  scholarships for
EU-nationals studying in third-countries.

The  European Masters Program  in  Computational  Logic is  sponsored
scientifically by the European  Network of Excellence on Computational
Logic  (CoLogNET), the  European  Association of  Logic, Language  and
Information   (FoLLI),  the   European   Coordinating  Committee   for
Artificial   Intelligence  (ECCAI),   the   Italian  Association   for
Artificial   Intelligence  (AI*IA),   the   Italian  Association   for
Informatics  (AICA, member  of  the Council  of European  Professional
Informatics  Societies), the  Italian  Association for  Logic and  its
Applications  (AILA), and  the Portuguese  Association  for Artificial
Intelligence (APPIA).



Prof. Dr. Steffen Hoelldobler
International Center for Computational Logic
Technische Universität Dresden
01062 Dresden, Germany

phone: [+49](351)46 33 83 40
fax: [+49](351)46 33 83 42
email: sh at iccl.tu-dresden.de

More information about the Haskell mailing list