[Haskell-cafe] Second Call for Papers: Reactive and Event-Based Languages and Systems (REBLS 2020)

Ivan Perez ivanperezdominguez at gmail.com
Fri Jun 26 14:23:48 UTC 2020


7th Workshop on Reactive and Event-based Languages and Systems (REBLS 2020)
co-located with the SPLASH Conference
Chicago, Illinois, USA Sun 15 - Fri 20 November 2020
Website: https://2020.splashcon.org/home/rebls-2020


Submission Deadline: 24 Jul 2020
Author Notification: 24 Aug 2020
Camera Ready Deadline: 25 Sep 2020


Reactive programming and event-based programming are two closely related
programming styles that are becoming more important with the ever
increasing requirement for applications to run on the web or on mobile
and the advent of advanced High-Performance Computing (HPC) technology.

A number of publications on middleware and language design -- so-called
reactive and event-based languages and systems (REBLS) -- have already seen
light, but the field still raises several questions. For example, the
interaction with mainstream language concepts is poorly understood,
implementation technology is still lacking, and modularity mechanisms remain
largely unexplored. Moreover, large applications are still to be developed,
and, consequently, patterns and tools for developing large reactive
applications are still in their infancy.

This workshop will gather researchers in reactive and event-based languages
systems. The goal of the workshop is to exchange new technical research
and to better define the field by developing taxonomies and discussing
overviews of the existing work.

We welcome all submissions on reactive programming, functional reactive
programming, and event- and aspect- oriented systems, including but not

* Language design, implementation, runtime systems, program analysis,
  software metrics, patterns and benchmarks.

* Formal models for reactive and event-based programming.

* Study of the paradigm: interaction of reactive and event-based
  programming with existing language features such as object-oriented
  programming, pure functional programming, mutable state, concurrency.

* Modularity and abstraction mechanisms in large systems.

* Advanced event systems, event quantification, event composition,
  aspect-oriented programming for reactive applications.

* Functional Reactive Programming (FRP), self-adjusting computation and
  incremental computing.

* Synchronous languages, modeling real-time systems, safety-critical
  reactive and embedded systems.

* Applications, case studies that show the efficacy of reactive

* Empirical studies that motivate further research in the field.

* Patterns and best-practices.

* Related fields, such as complex event processing, reactive data
  structures, view maintenance, constraint-based languages, and their
  integration with reactive programming.

* Implementation technology, language runtimes, virtual machine support,

* IDEs, Tools.

The format of the workshop is that of a mini-conference. Participants can
present their work in slots of 30 mins with Q&A included. Because of the
declarative nature of reactive programs, it is often hard to understand
their semantics just by looking at the code. We therefore also encourage
authors to use their slots for presenting their work based on live demos.


REBLS encourages submissions of two types of papers:

* Full papers: papers that describe complete research results. These papers
  will be published in the ACM digital library.

* In-progress papers: papers that have the potential of triggering an
  interesting discussion at the workshop or present new ideas that require
  further systematic investigation. These papers will not be published in
  the ACM digital library.


* Submissions should use the ACM SIGPLAN Conference acmart Format with the
  two-column, sigplan Subformat, 10 point font, using Biolinum as sans-serif
  font and Libertine as serif font. All submissions should be in PDF
format. If
  you use LaTeX or Word, please use the ACM SIGPLAN acmart Templates.

  The page http://www.sigplan.org/Resources/Author/#acmart-format contains
  instructions for authors, and a package that includes an example file

* Authors are required to explicitly specify the type of paper in the
  submission (i.e., full paper, in-progress paper).

* Full papers can be *up to* 12 pages in length, excluding references.
  In-progress papers can be *up to* 6 pages, excluding references.
  Papers do not need to make use of all pages, but they will be summarily
  rejected if they exceed the page limits.

Instructions for the Authors:

* Papers should be submitted through: https://rebls20.hotcrp.com/

* For fairness reasons, all submitted papers should conform to the
  instructions. Submissions that violate these instructions will be

* Program Committee members are allowed to submit papers, but their papers
  be held to a higher standard.

* Papers must describe unpublished work that is not currently submitted for
  publication elsewhere as described by SIGPLAN’s Republication Policy
  (http://www.sigplan.org/Resources/Policies/Republication). Submitters
  also be aware of ACM’s Policy and Procedures on Plagiarism.

* All submissions are expected to comply with the ACM Policies for
  detailed at


Ivan Perez (PC Chair; NIA)

Alan Jeffrey, Mozilla Research.
Christiaan Baaij, QBayLogic.
César Sánchez, IMDEA Software.
Daniel Winograd-Cort, Target Corp.
Edward Amsden, Black River Software, LLC.
Guerric Chupin, University of Nottingham.
Heinrich Apfelmus.
Jonathan Thaler, University of Applied Sciences Vorarlberg.
Louis Mandel, IBM Research.
Manuel Bärenz, sonnen eServices GmbH.
Marc Pouzet, Université Pierre et Marie Curie.
Mark Santolucito, University of Yale.
Neil Sculthorpe, University of Nottingham Trent.
Noemi Rodrigues, Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro
Oleksandra Bulgakova, Sukhomlynsky Mykolaiv National University
Patrick Bahr, University of Copenhagen
Takuo Watanabe, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Tetsuo Kamina, Oita University
Tom Van Cutsem, Nokia Bell Labs
Yoshiki Ohshima, HARC / Y Combinator Research


Guido Salvaneschi, TU Darmstadt, Germany
Wolfgang De Meuter, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Patrick Eugster, Universita della Svizzera Italiana, Switzerland
Francisco Sant'Anna, Rio de Janeiro State University, Brazil
Lukasz Ziarek, SUNY Buffalo, United States

For any questions, please use the form on the website or contact the Chair
ivan.perezdominguez at nasa.gov
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mail.haskell.org/pipermail/haskell-cafe/attachments/20200626/9914801a/attachment.html>

More information about the Haskell-Cafe mailing list